“Why I Work With Parents, Not in the Classroom, to Reform Our Schools”

Why I Work With Parents, Not in the Classroom, to Reform Our Schools provides an interesting take on community organizing, parents and schools (unfortunately, there’s no commentary in it on how to work as allies with teachers).

Here’s an excerpt:

Unlike the Bloomberg administration, organizers work from the belief that the people who are directly affected by a problem are the best qualified to identify its solution. Every day, I work with smart, savvy parents who have taught me more about the root causes of inequality in New York City public school system than I could have ever learned in the classroom. Working alongside parents has also helped me develop an understanding of “choice” that is much more complex than reformers (and their opponents) would have you believe.

I’m going to add it to The Best Examples Of Parent Engagement Through Community Organizing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *