“DPS resource center helps parents, students connect”

I’ve written several posts about parent involvement/engagement activities in Detroit, including questions I have about what’s going on.

The Detroit News recently ran an article about one of the new parent centers there, and I have to admit I liked a quote from the director (which is in the second paragraph of this article excerpt):

Besides parent engagement workshops, the centers offer GED programs, employment training, job-search seminars, computer classes and college information sessions.

“The ultimate goal is to improve student achievement,” program director Reggie Williams said. “But we’ve got a lot of unemployed parents. That’s why I brought in a speaker from Michigan Works! and presented a resume workshop, because parents can’t take their kids’ education seriously if they’re out of work and trying to focus on feeding their kids first.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *