“Irate Parents Fight to Keep Information on Their Kids Private”

Irate Parents Fight to Keep Information on Their Kids Private is the headline of an article about an effort to create a national student data base with inBloom.

I have to admit that I haven’t been following this issue very carefully, though I did previously post a link to a good article on it from Reuters and I’d recommend that you read it (K-12 student database jazzes tech startups, spooks parents). And I have expressed many concerns about what is being done in the name of “personalized learning,” which is a big push behind inBloom’s efforts.

I’ll leave you with a quote from the first article I mentioned in this post:

“But the main issue is this: No one consulted parents as to whether they wanted their child’s data collected or stored this way, just as no one asked them if they wanted their children to be tested to the degree they are,” Naison [Mark Naison, a professor at Fordham University]said.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *