What Do Latino Parents Say About Schools?

The Associated Press and Univision just published a poll they did with Latinos across the United States.

You can read a summary written by Education Week and one done by the San Francisco Examiner.

And you can read the actual poll results from AP here.

You can also see an Associated Press interactive, which makes the results much more accessible.

I’m still trying to digest it myself, but here are some results that stood out to me:

* In response to the question:”Do you expect your own (child) (children) to go to college, or do you expect them to
not go to college, or don’t you have any expectation either way?” 94% said “I expect my own (child) (children)
to go to college”

That was a higher percentage than I would have expected, given some of the challenges we face with parents of some of our Latinos students.

* And in response to the question: “What do you think is the one most important goal for a girl to have right after high
school? Is it …” 74% answered “Attending a four-year college” (for boys it was 71% percent)

Again, that was a pleasant surprise.

There’s lots more there, but I just don’t have time right now to review it completely. Feel free to leave a comment on what you find interesting in it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *