“To Help Language Skills of Children, a Study Finds, Text Their Parents With Tips”

To Help Language Skills of Children, a Study Finds, Text Their Parents With Tips is the headline of a New York Times article about a new study. It found that sending text messages to parents of very young children (like “Let your child hold the book. Ask what it is about. Follow the words with your finger as you read”) were more advanced academically than those whose parents did not receive them.

I thought that was interesting, particularly since another study that I’ve posted about in my other blog where adolescent students received encouraging texts was deemed a failure (I don’t have time right now to find that link but will add it later). Perhaps parents of very young children are in a more motivated frame of mind? I wonder how this experiment would work with parents of older children?

I’m adding this info to two “Best” lists:

“The Best Research Available On Parent Engagement”

The Best Resources For Learning About The “Word Gap”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *