I Don’t Think Fining Parents For Taking Students Out Of School For A Week’s Vacation Is The Best Idea….

A couple in the United Kingdom was given a substantial fine for taking their two children out of school for a one week vacation.

If you read the BBC article, it certainly doesn’t sound like justice was served.

Listen, I’m a teacher. It doesn’t make my job easier when parents take their kids to Mexico for a few weeks during the holidays, or when students miss school for a trip. But, come on, we live in the real world, and I understand that not everyone has the privilege of having vacation when I do. I also recognize that there are educational benefits for the kids in these trips.

As the father in the article says:

“The people who make these laws and policies don’t live in the real world.”

I’m adding this to The Worst Parent Engagement Ideas.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *