“Program aims to get parents on their children’s academic team”

Program aims to get parents on their children’s academic team is an article in the Los Angeles Times about a program I’ve previously blogged about called “Academic Parent-Teacher Teams.”

I’ll just reprint what I’ve said in an earlier post:

Admittedly, all I know about the program is based on the resources I’ve posted about it, but it seems to me to be pretty teacher-time intensive, data-driven, and leading with the “mouth” instead of the “ears.” I would contrast that with other family engagement efforts I’ve written about, including home visits, that tend to be more relationship and listening driven.

Let me know if you think I’m missing something…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *