New Initiative In England: “Family Learning Works”

It appears that a big new initiative is beginning in England called Family Learning Works. It’s mission is:

Every child’s education must include family learning to increase their levels of attainment at school, to prepare them for the rapidly changing labour market and help secure a prolonged economic recovery.

I’ve embedded a video below about the program. I don’t dispute the concerns that are voiced in the program and video, but I’m not too comfortable with the tone. It seems a little accusatory against parents for my taste.

You can read The Best Resources On Parent Engagement In Countries Other Than The U.S. to get a sense of the kind of parent engagement efforts about which I feel more positive.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *